Building Acoustic

The Improvement of Floor Impact Sound Reduction by Using Covering and Damping Material of Wooden Flooring

For the increasing demand of living environment quality, the capability of building structures applied for resisting floor impact sound is highly valued recently. Floor impact sound has been taken into consideration in the standard published by authorities in Taiwan, both Residential Performance Evaluation System and Green Building Assessment Manual.

In Taiwan, most congregate housing are RC-structured. Many researches indicate that the effect of thickening the RC-structured floor to decrease the floor impact sound appears limited, while using covering and damping materials can reduce floor impact sound efficiently. A comparison analysis was performed on the wooden flooring with self-manufactured damping pads in order to identify the pads with the best impact absorbing effect. The self-manufactured damping pad, primarily made from recycled rubber grain, glass wool and polyester, is glued by polyurethane which regards as a rubber particle composite pad. The result shows that the composite pad consisting of both low rigidity and high rigidity materials can reach a better sound insulation performance of floor impact sound, for the former provides flexibility created by porosity and the latter offers structure.

Floor impact sound test schematic diagramNew-type wooden flooring structure schematic diagramThe sound reduction level of rubber particle composite pad applies to new-type wooden flooring structure (ΔL )

Floor Impact Sound

An acoustic condition in residential units has always been a vital research issue. There are even many cases that resort to litigation for floor impact sound trouble in congregate housing recently.  Ministry of the Interior, Taiwan has implemented the practically operation of managing and upgrading acoustic condition in residential units, as it has upgraded the impact sound reducing performance requirements of floor materials in regulations such as Housing Act and Indoor Target of EEWH. The study is conducted by on-site measurement and experiments in laboratories on floor materials’ acoustic performance of different components including finishing parts, resilient parts, structure parts.

Below are ongoing projects:
[1] Improvement extent measurement for floor impact sound reduction of resilient materials.
[2] Resilient measurement and database establishment of absorptive building materials.
*The project is operating associated with Professor Fang-ming, Lin from National Pingtung University of Science and Technology and Professor Sung-Chin, Chung National Yunlin University of Science and Technology.

Small sample tested by standard tapping machineSound transmission class measurement with floor impact sound of different Octave Band

Noise Generated From Drain Pipes

Nowadays, quite, comfortable, and healthy residential space has been increasingly valued as the living quality rises. According to domestic aiming studies, a lot of residents are disturbed by noise generated from drain pipes which is one of the main problems of water supply and drainage system devices in existing buildings.

However, referring to the above, chase and lavatory architectural design in our country has yet been improved which catch our attention. The lab studies the issue by on-site measurement on the basis of ISO 16032, which was launched on 2004 stating the standard of noise on-site measurement for all kinds of service devices in a building, intent to clarify the key problem with efficiency, analyze it and provide improving strategies.

Below are ongoing projects:
[1] Existing noise problem studies on water supply and drainage device and drain pipes in residential units.
[2] Management for noise problem with water supply and drainage device in residential units.
*The project is operating associated with Professor Fang-ming, Lin from National Pingtung University of Science and Technology

Comparison of noises generated by open-conduit, covered-conduit, and the circumstanceMeasurement results of different kinds of noise

Fireproof Soundproof Door

In Taiwan, wooden door and fans often appear in general single room, restaurants, business offices and other places. In the field of acoustics, the performance of sound insulation performance is not outstanding because of material properties of wood. This research cooperate with Ping Shen Enterprises Company Ltd, to develop multiple sets of test pieces, conduct Sound intensity method and Sound pressure method for 1:1 building components sound insulation performance test in the TAF certified ISO 17025 laboratory, then improve the sound insulation performance of wooden fire door fans.

Reverberant Chamber schematicPractical work in the chamber

研究課題 – 建築聲學相關課題 Building Acoustics

直鋪式木質複合地板對樓板衝擊音改善效果之研究 The Improvement of Floor Impact Sound Reduction by Using Covering and Damping Material of Wooden Flooring

在居住環境品質要求提升下,國人對於建築構造抵抗樓板衝擊音的性能需求逐漸受到重視。國內如住宅性能評估制度、綠建築評估手冊都將樓板衝擊音列入評估標準。

國內集合住宅多為RC構造樓板,而許多研究指出單純增加RC樓板厚度對於衝擊音的改善效果有限,若採用表面材減振則可有效減少樓板衝擊音。本研究以木地板為探討對象,搭配自行開發製造之減振墊進行性能分析。減震墊主原料選用回收橡膠粒、玻璃棉與聚酯纖維為填充材,利用聚氨酯膠合製成橡膠粒複合墊。結果顯示複合材料使用剛性較低與較高的材料混合,前者可提供孔隙創造彈性、後者提供結構性,可以得到較好的樓板衝擊音隔音性能。

樓板衝擊音試驗示意圖新型直鋪式木地板構造示意圖橡膠粒墊應用於新型直鋪式木地板的聲壓位準降低量∆L

住宅樓板衝擊音之控制  Floor Impact Sound

住宅的音環境一直以來都是相當受到重視的研究議題,集合住宅中的樓板衝擊音問題,近年來更有許多訴諸司法的案例。內政部近年來針對住宅音環境的管理與提升均 有實質作為,不但在住宅法或綠建築的室內環境指標中,均提升了樓板衝擊音的性能要求。本研究主要以實驗室量測以及現場實測方式,對各種樓板表面材、緩衝材 及架構材之性能進行探討。

目前進行中的課題有:
[1] 緩衝材對樓板衝擊音的改善效果
[2] 吸附性建材性能實驗與資料庫之建立
*本研究與屏東科技大學林芳銘教授、雲林科技大學鍾松晉教授合作進行中

以輕量衝擊源進行小試體測試各頻帶樓板衝擊音隔音值量測結果

住宅排水設備噪音 Noise Generated From Drain Pipes

近年來,隨著隨著生活品質的提升,人們 越來越重視居住空間的安靜、舒適與健康。根據國內文獻中調查研究的結果顯示,對於水管排水聲感到干擾的居民相當多,在既有建築給排水衛生設備的問題中排名 相當前面。然而,在國內一片重視節能與健康的潮流中,建築設計中對衛浴空間、管道間的設計卻未見明顯的改善。本研究室依據ISO於2004年所提出之建築 物內各式服務設備之現場噪音量測通則標準(ISO 16032)進行實測研究,希望能有效理解問題、分析問題並提出改善對策。

目前進行中的課題有:
[1] 住宅給排水設備噪音及管路噪音現況探討研究
[2] 住宅給排水設備噪音之改善對策研究
*本研究與屏東科技大學林芳銘教授合作進行中

明管、暗管與背景噪音的比較各種噪音的實測結果

防火隔音門 Fireproof Soundproof Door

在台灣,木質門扇常出現於一般套房、飯店、商辦等場所。於聲學領域中,基於木質材料的材料特性,於隔音性能表現上並未突出。本研究與經營木質防火門扇已有30年經驗的秉伸興業共同設計多組試件,透過TAF認證符合ISO 17025之實驗室,以聲強法與聲壓法進行1:1建築構件隔音性能試驗,測試不同門扇材料及組合不同門件機構,提升木質防火門扇之隔音性能。

回響室示意圖現場裝設圖: 聲壓法(左)、聲強法(中 & 右)