Design and Practical Works

Case Study on a Wind Tower of a Row House

Row house (A row of terrace house) has disadvantages of ventilation and natural lighting when considering building physics. We cooperated with Mr. Yuan-Hung Chao, the principal of Tsdesign and also the Lecturer of our department (Department of Architecture of National Cheng Kung University), to develop a ventilation tower for small-scale housing. In this project, we not only verified the CFD Simulation result with actual measurement, but also managed to receive Taiwan Patent issued by Intellectual Property Office, Ministry of Economic Affairs.

Ventilation Tower designed by Mr. Yuan-Hung Chao
Measurement of ventilation quantity and experiment of visibilizing air flowResult of CFD simulation

 

Luce Chapel Conservation Research: Investigation/Improvement of Thermal Environment

Luce Chapel on the campus of Tunghai University is one of the most symbolic modern architecture in Taiwan. As the masterpiece ages, alternation for functions that meets the modern needs and the maintenance that saves the original design spirit have become a critical issue. Tunghai University obtained funding from the Getty Foundation, and hence planned to study the building with an integrating view to renovating it in architectural composition, structure, building physics, equipment, etc.. The purpose for our lab is to bring forward advice for the renovation construction project on the basis of the assessment of interior thermal circumstances adjusting with HVAC system and the analysis of improvement on thermal comfort and building energy saving.

Wind velocity boundary condition and simulation result of external wind fieldWind velocity simulation result varys along with air-conditioning blow-out angles

Expanded Metal Mesh

In recent years, many buildings have used Metal Expanded Mesh as facade design elements. In addition to the visually penetrating aesthetics, the also provide shade effects or as a facade green system with planting. According to the Technical Code for Energy Conservation Design of Buildings, external shading coefficient-KI can be calculated by the aperture ratio of the perforated shading to evaluate the energy saving effect on the building. Many literature indicates that perforated shading have an impact on the energy efficiency of the building envelope in addition to the aperture ratio, material, color, radiance and perforation type. The Expanded Metal Mesh is three-dimensional opening type, and some foreign literature also indicates that the opening pattern has a considerable difference in the solar radiation shielding effect at a specific angle.

The research team established a cooperative education with Shang Kai Steel Company Ltd, to explore the relationship between the aperture ratio, type and actual shading effect. Further explore its impact on building energy consumption and indoor lighting with software tool: EnergyPlus and Radiance.

Experiment house-Expanded Metal Mesh shading performance test (Exterior/Interior)Light Environment Simulation: interior of experiment house

The Improvement of Floor Impact Sound Reduction by Using Covering and Damping Material of Wooden Flooring

For the increasing demand of living environment quality, the capability of building structures applied for resisting floor impact sound is highly valued recently. Floor impact sound has been taken into consideration in the standard published by authorities in Taiwan, both Residential Performance Evaluation System and Green Building Assessment Manual.

In Taiwan, most congregate housing are RC-structured. Many researches indicate that the effect of thickening the RC-structured floor to decrease the floor impact sound appears limited, while using covering and damping materials can reduce floor impact sound efficiently. A comparison analysis was performed on the wooden flooring with self-manufactured damping pads in order to identify the pads with the best impact absorbing effect. The self-manufactured damping pad, primarily made from recycled rubber grain, glass wool and polyester, is glued by polyurethane which regards as a rubber particle composite pad. The result shows that the composite pad consisting of both low rigidity and high rigidity materials can reach a better sound insulation performance of floor impact sound, for the former provides flexibility created by porosity and the latter offers structure.

Floor impact sound test schematic diagramNew-type wooden flooring structure schematic diagramThe sound reduction level of rubber particle composite pad applies to new-type wooden flooring structure (ΔL )

Fireproof Soundproof Door

In Taiwan, wooden door and fans often appear in general single room, restaurants, business offices and other places. In the field of acoustics, the performance of sound insulation performance is not outstanding because of material properties of wood. This research cooperate with Ping Shen Enterprises Company Ltd, to develop multiple sets of test pieces, conduct Sound intensity method and Sound pressure method for 1:1 building components sound insulation performance test in the TAF certified ISO 17025 laboratory, then improve the sound insulation performance of wooden fire door fans.

Reverberant Chamber schematicPractical work in the chamber

Indoor environmental quality of Wooden based construction for high-rise residential buildings in Taiwan

Sustainable development and climate change are getting more important than ever. From the green building labeling system to the carbon footprint calculation and the life cycle of building certification in Taiwan, it is widely acknowledged that the use of wooden materials contributes to a lower level of carbon dioxide emission but in practice, the design of energy saving remains a main approach.
One may find several ideas of CLT wooden structure congregate housing in overseas literature, such as fire-proof and aseismatic structure, and ex-post evaluations of indoor environment quality and on-site testing. In addition to fire-proof and aseismatic research, more studies related to indoor environment quality are needed for domestic development. Our study focused on the wooden structure high-rise congregate housing under the climate in Taiwan and conducted an ex-post evaluation of physical indoor environment in the existing CLT buildings. Also, the influence of structure to the indoor environmental quality was investigated for the purpose of structure and material localization, namely, to reach the quality of imported construction products by means of domestic materials and designs.
Our results shall significantly improve the techniques of wooden structure high-rise buildings in Taiwan, including the control of building environment and the structure of architecture. A complete localization of structure body and decoration materials is now possible for practical use in the domestic industry. The research procedures and objectives are listed below:
(1) An ex-post evaluation of a five-level CLT wooden structure residence was conducted to identify the potential problems of wooden structure congregate housing in practical use. The evaluation consisted of acoustic, thermal and air environment examination, and a questionnaire survey for the users.
(2) The influence of CLT wooden wall-type structure to the quality of airborne and floor impact sound was analyzed. It was discussed whether decoration and buffer materials of different types may improve the overall acoustic environment in order to formulate a structure localization strategy.
(3) The quality of CLT materials (including surface coating) in moisture buffering was assessed; the influence of CLT materials to indoor moisture environment was as well studied in order to formulate a moisture control technique which integrates either natural or mechanical ventilation.

Indoor ventilationASHRAE Standard 55 Adaptive modelStatistics of the indoor thermal comfort range

Practical Works

大山空間設計林宅設計案熱浮力通風器性能檢測  Case Study on a Wind Tower of a Row House

台灣的透天厝(連棟透天住宅)在物理環境上存在了通風與採光上的劣勢。我們與大山空間設計的負責人,也是本系兼任教師的趙元鴻老師合作進行了小住宅通風塔的開發,除了搭配CFD風場模擬與實測的驗證之外,也成功申請到中華民國專利。

趙元鴻老師設計的通風器
住宅通風量測定與氣流可視化實驗CFD風場模擬結果

 

東海大學路思義教堂熱環境調查與改善計畫  Luce Chapel Conservation Research: Investigation/Improvement of Thermal Environment

東海大學路思義教堂是台灣最具代表性的現代建築之一,但隨著經年累月的劣化,兼顧機能、文化與保存的修繕成了相當重要的課題。東海大學於2014年取得美國蓋提基金會(Getty Fundation)的經費資助,預定進行包含建築構造、結構、物環與設備等整體改善的研究。本計畫的主要目的為室內熱環境與空調系統的診斷、進行熱舒適與建築節能之改善分析,並提出改善工程之建議。

風速邊界條件與外部風場模擬結果空調出風角度的風速模擬結果

金屬擴張網 Expanded Metal Mesh

近年來,許多建築採用了金屬擴張網作為立面設計元素,除了具備視覺穿透性的美感之外,更可提供遮陽效果,或結合植栽作為立面綠化系統。根據建築物節約能源設計技術規範,可藉由穿孔型遮陽板的開口率來計算外遮陽係數Ki,評估對建築節能的效益。許多文獻指出沖孔板類遮陽板除了開口率,材料、顏色、輻射率與孔目型式均對建築外殼的節能性能造成影響。另外,金屬擴張網屬於三維的開孔型式,國外文獻亦指出這種開孔型式對特定角度的日射遮蔽效果差異相當大。

本研究團隊與上鎧鋼鐵公司建立建教合作關係,探討金屬擴張網作為建築立面開口部之外遮陽,其開孔率、開孔型式與實際遮陽效果之關係。進一步探討其對於建築耗能與室內採光之影響,利用由美國能源局DOE(Department of Energy) 贊助開發之建築耗能分析模擬軟體EnergyPlus及光線視覺化分析程式Radiance進行研究。

實驗屋-金屬擴張網遮陽性能試驗(外觀/內部)光環境數值模擬實驗屋內部

直鋪式木質複合地板對樓板衝擊音改善效果之研究 The Improvement of Floor Impact Sound Reduction by Using Covering and Damping Material of Wooden Flooring

在居住環境品質要求提升下,國人對於建築構造抵抗樓板衝擊音的性能需求逐漸受到重視。國內如住宅性能評估制度、綠建築評估手冊都將樓板衝擊音列入評估標準。

國內集合住宅多為RC構造樓板,而許多研究指出單純增加RC樓板厚度對於衝擊音的改善效果有限,若採用表面材減振則可有效減少樓板衝擊音。本研究以木地板為探討對象,搭配自行開發製造之減振墊進行性能分析。減震墊主原料選用回收橡膠粒、玻璃棉與聚酯纖維為填充材,利用聚氨酯膠合製成橡膠粒複合墊。結果顯示複合材料使用剛性較低與較高的材料混合,前者可提供孔隙創造彈性、後者提供結構性,可以得到較好的樓板衝擊音隔音性能。

樓板衝擊音試驗示意圖新型直鋪式木地板構造示意圖橡膠粒墊應用於新型直鋪式木地板的聲壓位準降低量∆L

防火隔音門 Fireproof Soundproof Door

在台灣,木質門扇常出現於一般套房、飯店、商辦等場所。於聲學領域中,基於木質材料的材料特性,於隔音性能表現上並未突出。本研究與經營木質防火門扇已有30年經驗的秉伸興業共同設計多組試件,透過TAF認證符合ISO 17025之實驗室,以聲強法與聲壓法進行1:1建築構件隔音性能試驗,測試不同門扇材料及組合不同門件機構,提升木質防火門扇之隔音性能。

回響室示意圖現場裝設圖: 聲壓法(左)、聲強法(中 & 右)

CLT木構造的室內環境品質 Indoor environmental quality of Wooden based construction for high-rise residential buildings in Taiwan

永續發展與氣候變遷越來越受重視,我國從綠建築標章、綠建材標章制度,到近年建築生命週期碳排放量(碳足跡)計算與認證都肯定使用木材對降低碳排的貢獻,但實務上仍以建築節能設計為主的方向進行。 木構造建築或者存在大量木造建築的都市可讓都市成為碳素的儲藏庫,與森林有相同的功效成為有效改善地球環境問題的關鍵。近年來,隨著木材科技的進步包含集成材、單板積層材 LVL(Laminated Veneer Lumber)、 直交積層材 CLT(Cross Laminated Timber)的出現,將木構造帶往高層化的世界,尤其是 CLT讓我們得以使用木材來取代都市建築中大量使用的水泥與鋼鐵,也讓大規模的都市高層木構造成為具體可行的目標。
國外積極進行 CLT 等新型木構造集合住宅的研究,從防火、耐震發展至室內環境品質,現場實測等用後評估的研究。我國在積極進行防火、耐震等研究的同時,極需室內環境品質的相關研究加以配合。本研究以台灣氣候下木構造高層集合住宅為對象,進行台灣既有 CLT 住宅的室內物理環境用後評估之外,更探討構造方式對室內環境品質的影響,以進行構造與材料的本土化,思考如何以台灣常用建材與構法來達到國外進口建材產品的性能。
研究成果可大幅推進台灣環境下的都市高層木構造的技術,對建築環境控制、構造以及築結構領域有所貢獻,讓未來我國產業界可完整從結構體到裝修材均完成技術的本土化,確保產業實務上的應用性。研究探討內容與目的分述如下:
(1) 進行既有 5 層樓 CLT 木構造住宅用後評估,包含音環境、熱環境與空氣環境的檢測與使用者問卷調查,以了解木構造集合住宅於實際使用上的問題。
(2) 分析 CLT木構造的壁式結構對空氣隔音與樓板衝擊音的性能,並探討各種裝修材料與緩衝材料對音環境的改善效果,以提出本土化構法策略。
(3) 探討 CLT材料(包含表面塗裝)的調濕性能,並分析對室內濕氣環境的影響,提出結合自然通風或機械通風的濕氣控制手法。

室內通風ASHRAE Standard 55 Adaptive model室內熱舒適範圍天數統計